Feminism Has Still a Long Way to Go…

IMG_1244

me hiking at Craters of the Moon, Idaho, October 2014

 

I’m a woman and am not super-militant, despite the title of this blog.
I do clean and cook. I do wear a bra and shave my legs. I do like to dress up at times as well.

But…

(I know you were waiting for the “but”…)

I also work, and I HATE…

totally and entirely HATE

to be stuffed into a stereotypic position of “busy, caring, and loyal underling,” underpaid, talked down to, my intelligence ignored, my ability to learn disregarded, advancement rendered impossible.

I equally hate to be treated as if I had the brain of a fly when I go to car shops, or any other shop for that matter where customer service is male. I hate the jerks who don’t know me but talk down to me and feel qualified to tell me what to do (or not do)

for the simple reason that

they have a penis and a deep voice

and I don’t.

>>>> And don’t get me started on the glass ceiling and the governing body….!

Yes, indeed, feminism has still
a looooooooooong way to go around here.

 

~~~*~~~

.

 

4 thoughts on “Feminism Has Still a Long Way to Go…

  1. bexybexybexy says:

    Here’s my thing:
    I clean my share, cook my share, wear a bra (sometimes not), shave my legs (sometimes not), like to dress up at times and being a humane~ist I don’t mind anyone doing the same (note: shave their legs not mine). So if hubby wants to wear that red dress again, I don’t mind, but please not again with the short socks and flat, black lace up shoes!

  2. Ellen says:

    So true! But I have to say — and, mind you, this is coming from a 60 year-old nearly flaming feminist — that some of the men most appreciative of my intelligence and ability have been the men I met at shooting ranges and in my NRA classes to qualify for a permit to conceal-carry my handgun. Men who shoot know women are generally a better shot. Men in gun shows are polite and don’t assume a woman there is a “little lady” who doesn’t know anything. I know. Surprising to think I’ve been treated with more respect at a gun show than I was in most jobs by a male boss!

    • Ellen, thank you for your comment.
      I’m glad that there is at least one place and some men who don’t look down on us “little old ladies,” now we only wish the others would follow.

Leave a Reply

