Sometimes, I Could Just Cry…

 

goose

 

Sometimes, I can barely stand it anymore

How people sacrifice humanity

 – Their humanity –

On the altar of

Convenience, speed,

Distraction, carelessness,

And sometimes money.

.

Today in the city

I saw a goose crossing the road.

.

Geese mate for life!

His/her mate stood on the side of the road

And hollered…

.

I braked.

The driver in the lane next to mine braked,

The drivers behind us braked,

I tapped the horn a bit

And the goose ran to its mate.

Safe!

.

Later, I meant to take a walk

Around the pond where the geese hang out.

From far I saw

A goose lying on the road

Hurt

Unable to get up

Helplessly flopping

Obviously hit by a car

With his/her mate

Standing on the road side

Helpless, and

Crying.

.

I can’t believe that some idiot

Couldn’t be bothered to brake

Near the pond

Where the geese live!

.

Now traffic parted

Around the hurting, helpless goose.

.

I turned around and ran away,

Crying!

~~~*~~~

.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes, I Could Just Cry…

  1. I of July says:

    Having sensitivity towards all life forms is a habit one has to cultivate or at least in my case it came with greater awareness of self. I notice I’m definitely more respectful of other nature’s creatures than I was perhaps in my youth. I find I cannot hurt an ant these days at least with intent but I can confess I may have not been as considerate when I was much younger. I definitely attribute some of it to greater ignorance during those years. Pertinent piece and wise observation.

    • Thank you for your insights.
      I have had these feelings since “always” but when I was young, I was less aware of what is going on in the world and how mistreated many animals are, plus how careless many humans are.

Leave a Reply

