Digging My Head Out of the Sand

 

ostrich

 

I’m not only the queen of procrastinators, I also tend to bury my head in the sand when a situation calls for courage.

Since I finished my manuscript (middle grade fiction) I’ve been busy … waiting around until I find the courage to submit it. The excuses for my inertia are (more or less) good and plentiful:

  • I first need to find the “right” agent
  • I haven’t had time to read through the whole book of “Guide to finding an agent
  • I’m reviewing my manuscript
  • I’m waiting to get feedback from the three people who said they would read my “book”
  • My child needs me
  • I need to write a blog first
  • My dog is sick
  • Chores, chores, and more chores until the cows come home… and beyond
  • Spring cleaning
  • I feel sick
  • I need to re-write the first couple of pages but… haven’t had the time yet
  • etc.
  • etc.

The list can go on at will, until …. Today (!) when I’ve decided that enough is enough (yet another platitude, I know…) and that I better get to it.

The best way to short-circuit my procrastination has always been setting a deadline. I did that to leave Switzerland and singlehandedly move myself to the United States, I’ve used the trick for signing up for college after age 50 (where I was served with piles of deadlines…) and I’m using it again today.

I give myself until the end of the week

Re-writing the opening page

Writing a query

Making a plan about which agent I will query first

Doing it!

Oh man, that sand sure feels gritty between the teeth… 🙂

 

~~~*~~~

.

2 thoughts on “Digging My Head Out of the Sand

  1. Good luck! Once submitted, the waiting sucks! You’ll wish you did it sooner.

  2. Ha! joynellschultz… I can just see me kicking myself that I didn’t, indeed. 🙂
    Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

