Strange Destiny….

Memories…
Of a book that I read when I was a teen: “The Outsiders”, by S.E. Hinton.
I grew up and lived in a small village in Switzerland. The book I read as a teenager was a German translation of the American novel.
It is about gang wars in Oklahoma (actually Tulsa).

I did not even know, then, where Oklahoma was, nor had I any clue as to what a gang, a gang war, or being born on the wrong side of the tracks could be and mean…. but I never forgot the book. It must have very much impressed me.

About 25 years later, I married a Native American man from Shawnee, Oklahoma, and 3 years later, gave birth to my lovely son in the Indian Hospital of Ada, Oklahoma.

Furthermore, I always remembered the poem “Nothing Gold Can Stay” from Robert Frost, which was cited in the book in a prominent way. I remembered this poem through all these years, in its German translation.

The Outsider: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Outsiders_%28film%29

 

Nothing Gold Can Stay
(by Robert Frost)

Nature’s first green is gold
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

 

Nichts Goldenes Bleibt
(von Robert Frost, Uebersetzung)

Gold ist das erste Grün der Fluren
Vergänglichste der frühen Morgenspuren
Die Blätter sind wie zarte Blüten
Ihr Glanz lässt sich Sekunden nur behüten
Bald folgen tausend Blätter wie mit einem Schlage
Die Nacht vergeht und wird zum Tage
So sank das Paradies von Lust in Trauer
Nichts Goldenes bleibt, nichts ist von Dauer

Leave a Reply

