What do you do with ADHD?

Since I’ve learned that my son is likely to have ADD or, even more likely, ADHD, I began reading on the condition, exploring new diets for him, helping him to focus. But… the more I read, the more it became evident to me that I might “have it” more than he does. When I check on the symptoms in adults, I can claim pretty much the whole list to myself, while my son is treading lighter than me, or at least seems to. (Since when can a mother be objective? There is no way she could…)

Now the question arises: what to do?

I’ve lived with myself over fifty years, and the traits that I like the least (to say it mildly) are all on the ADHD list. It ensues that it would be of great advantage to “do something about it.”
But what?

There seem to be a great number of descriptive and self-help books on shelves and virtual shelves, for people like me. It is quite funny, since one of the main problems of an ADHD person is the lack of focus, and therefore the difficulty of reading and studying…

But I like reading (at least fiction…) and the idea of finding the “right” book that will “finally” help me is tempting. And there comes the additional problem: which book is the “right” book?

Also, having an attention deficit, how would I be able to do what is suggested in the book? Reading it is already hard. How would I keep the focus on the goal for months or years, and persist in exercising? Heck, I can barely manage to remind my son a few times per week to practice for his guitar lesson. He’s supposed to practice five minutes every day. If all goes well I remember reminding him up to three times a week, generally less…

Of course, I’m projecting things here, but I wonder nevertheless how I could possibly follow an exercise plan, albeit mental exercise (probably), when I’m having a hard time getting my dishes washed every day? I help myself with lists, but sometimes I forget where I’ve put the list (and find it a couple of weeks later someplace unexpected…), or I have several lists going, one in each room, and never get around to synchronizing them…
**sigh**

I would like to turn our “disability” into our “specialty,” into something that will help us, my son and I, to actually use this part of our person as an added benefit, as a special gift, as a creative force, as our strength, not as something negative.

But where do I begin????
How do I go about it????
Is it possible at all…?

.

2 thoughts on “What do you do with ADHD?

  1. Dayv says:

    It sounds like you discovered ADHD about the same way I learned I had PTSD. A ‘Nam bro had this brochure a buddy of his produced, listing the symptoms quiz on the back page. He’d written a poem about it, sent it to me for my take on it. I found I scored 100% on the quiz, which explained a lot of what was happening in my life at the time. Still, there’s so much Catch-22 in all of this.

    If nothing else, have fun with it andf yourself. Do a diagram of your house, a floor plan. For each room, make a list of all the needful things to be done, and attach it all to the diagram. Make it like a treasure hunt, each room you go into, do something off the list and tick it off. You can post the lists on each room’s door as well. I did something like that one day when I started to do the dishes. I’d gone from the dishes to picking up some things in the living room to taking out the trash to wind up working on my car, all without having finished doing the dishes. Each distraction led to something else, and I don’t think I got ANYTHING done completely that day! I needed to go get a part or two before I could even finish working on the car! It was interesting and a bit entertaining as I thought about my ramblings. Maybe, you can find an audiobook of one of the manuals, read along as you listen?

  2. You say: “I did something like that one day when I started to do the dishes. I’d gone from the dishes to picking up some things in the living room to taking out the trash to wind up working on my car, all without having finished doing the dishes. Each distraction led to something else, and I don’t think I got ANYTHING done completely that day!”
    That’s exactly how many of my days go… **sigh**

Leave a Reply

