Obesity vs. Crafts

Ever since I stopped smoking, I’ve been putting on weight. It could be worse, but even though it isn’t, I had to buy new clothes – several times! – because the old ones didn’t fit anymore.

I started observing myself… “when does she eat all those extra calories?”
She eats them when she has “nothing to do”.

Depression and a general sense of uselessness and inadequacy tend to bubble up every so often and rob me of my energy. Also, since I’m without job since over a year, I experience times where I’m not sure of what to do with myself.
It is not that I don’t have anything to do. There is always something that needs fixing and tending to. But many of these activities are not pleasant (like cleaning the bathroom, washing the windows, etc…) And when they collide with one of my darker moods/days, they won’t get done and I’ll just sit around, almost waiting that my son comes back from school.
While I wait, I snack….

Pretty pathetic, eh?

I have been thinking a lot about this and came up with…

CRAFTS !!!

Indeed, when I do crafts that I like, my hands and mind are busy with something pretty, nice or useful, or any combination of these. I can get quite engrossed in this kind of occupation. And when that happens, not only do I not need any snacks to get me through the day, but I don’t even have time for snacks.

The result of my study is:

– TV and internet can make you fat, because you can “consume” them without passion, and you may need snacks for filling the inner void.
– Crafts of your choice will satisfy you much better, keep you busy, and you won’t need even half as many snacks.

.

2 thoughts on “Obesity vs. Crafts

  1. I love this post! It is so true. People tend to use food to “fill the inner void.” I love that you chose to fill that void with an activity like crafts.

  2. Thank you!
    Yes! I’m getting more and more active, rather than channel- or internet surfing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

